Big Story

List of 31 Current MPs who will not return to 11th Parliament, Discover why!

With only 12 days left to the Presidential and parliamentary elections, at least 31 current members of parliament representing different constituencies and districts across the country will not return to the next Parliament, the Daily Express exclusively reveals why!

The 31 MPs listed below are not returning to the 11th parliament either because they willingly exited the race, took on advanced positions of contestation or were defeated in the party primaries and didn’t consider to stand as independent candidates.

Notable names of MPs who opted out are, Minister of Foreign Affairs Sam Kutesa who fronted his daughter Shatsi Kutesa Musheru, Minister of Local Government Raphael Magyezi who opted out, and Mbale Municipality MP Jack Wamanga Wamai who decided not to contest.

Others are; Florence Namayanja, the Bukoto East MP who has opted to contest as mayor, Winnie Kiiza, the Kasese Woman MP who joined the Alliance for National Transformation and Judith Babirye, the Buikwe Woman MP who traveled abroad.

Of the five youth MPs, only two, Ishma Mafabi the Eastern Youth MP and Oscar Omony the Northern Youth MP are not returning while others are seeking to contest for directly elected or woman MP seats.

Robert Kyagulanyi alias Bobi Wine will also not be returning to parliament after moving goal posts to contest for the highest office on land to end President Yoweri Museveni’s 35 year rule.

Here is the full list of the MPS not returning to the 11th Parliament:

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.

1. Robert Kyagulanyi

2.Evelyn Anite

3.Henry Okello Oryem

4.Adolf Mwesigye

5.Raphael Magyezi

6.Mary Karoro Okurut

7. Sam Kutesa

8.Winnie Kiiza

9.Abraham Byandala

10.John Byabagambi

11.Judith Babirye

12.Wamanga Wamai

13.Nabila Naggayi Sempala

14. Isham Mafabi

15.Florence Namayanja

16.Charles Ilukor

17.Oscar Omony

18.Musumba Isaac Isanga

19.Moses Kizige

20.Nakate Lilian

21.John Bosco Lubyai

22.Peace Kusasira

23.Benny Namugwanya

24.Amos Mandera

25.Michael Tusiime

26.Lawrence Bategek

27.Muruli Mukasa

28.Mayanja Mbabali

29.Grace Kwiyucwiny

30.Gabriel Ajedra

31.Godfrey Kiwanda Suubi


Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »