AFCON QUALIFIERS: Mubiru Names 31-man Squad for Uganda Cranes to take on Burkina Faso, Malawi

Uganda Cranes Players Take part in one of the training sessions for the AFCON Qualifiers [File Photo]

2022 AFCON QUALIFIERS: A total of 31 players have been named in the Uganda Cranes Squad as the National football team prepares to take on Burkina Faso and Malawi in the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers later this month.

Cranes Acting Head Coach Abdallah Mubiru, together with Coach Livingstone Mbabazi named the 31-man squad on Friday at FUFA Complex, Mengo.

- Advertisement. Article Continues Below. -

Striker Yunus Ssentamu and goalkeeper Mathias Kigonya were among those that returned to the Uganda Cranes fold after some time.

Uche Ikpeazu Mubiru, a forward with Wycombe Wanders in the English Championship is also part of the team as he earned his first callup to the national football team, while Daniel Isiagi Opolot who plies his trade as a striker at Jomo Cosmos FC in South Africa also makes list.

DR Congo 0-2 Uganda: Patrick Kaddu and Emmanuel Okwi headers give Uganda  victory | Daily Mail Online
Uganda Cranes Forward Patrick Kaddu Celebrates one of his goals at the 2019 AFCON Tournament [File Photo]

Other players to return to the team after a while include defender Murushid Juuko, Patrick Kaddu, Abdu Lumala and Moses Waiswa.

Uganda is second in group B on seven points and will face leaders Burkina Faso on 24th March in Kampala before ending the campaign away against Malawi on 29th March.

Full List of 31-Man Squad Announced

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Salim Jamal Magoola (Al Hilal Omdurman, Sudan), Mathias Kigonya (Azam FC, Tanzania), Charles Lukwago (KCCA FC, Uganda)

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada(Azam FC, Tanzania), Elvis Bwomono (South End, England), Brevis Mugabi (Motherwell, Scotland), Murushid Juuko (Express FC, Uganda), Musitafa Kiiza(DC Montreal, USA), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Timothy Dennis Awany (FC Ashdod, Israel), Ronald Mukiibi(Ostersunds, Sweden), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC, Uganda), Garvin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa, Uganda)

Midfielders: Khalid Aucho (Misr Lel Makkasa, Egypt), Mike Azira (New Mexixo United-, USA), William Kizito Luwagga (Hapoel Kfar Saba- Israel), Allan Okello (AC Paradou, Algeria), Allan Kyambadde (El Gouna, Egypt), Moses Waiswa (SuperSport United, South Africa), Taddeo Lwanga (Simba SC, Tanzania), Abdu Lumala (Pyramids FC, Egypt), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC, Uganda)

Forwards: Uche Ikpeazu Mubiru (Wycombe Wanders, England), Fahad Bayo (FC Ashdod, Israel), Daniel Isiagi(Jomo Cosmos, South Africa), Faruku Miya (Konyaspor, Turkey) Yunus Ssentamu (Vipers SC), Emmanuel Okwi (Al Ittihad Alexandria, Egypt), Patrick Kaddu (Youssoufia Berrechid-Tunisia)

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.


Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »