Big Story

Five MPs appear on URA’s tax defaulters’ shame list

The Uganda Revenue Authority (URA) has released a list of 282 tax defaulters, including five Members of Parliaments from the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM).

- Advertisement. Article Continues Below. -

The MPs on the list, which URA, has described as “shame list” of tax evaders include Kabula County MP James Kakooza, Katerera County MP Hatwib Katooto, Dokolo North MP Paul Amoru, Moroto Municipality MP Fred Angella and former Bunyole County MP, Emmanuel Dombo, who is the spokesperson of the ruling NRM party.

According to the public notice issued on Monday morning by URA, all the 282 tax evaders have been given seven days to settle their outstanding liabilities.

“Whoever will not clear their outstanding liabilities within the said period shall be enforced upon in accordance with the relevant tax laws,” URA officials noted in their notice to tax defaulters.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.


Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »