Rajiv Ruparelia leads Ugandan team of eight drivers ahead of the ARC Equator Rally

Senior Rally ace Rajiv Ruparelia has been confirmed in the list of eight Ugandan drivers flagged off by the Federation of Motorsport Clubs of Uganda (FMU) ahead of this weekend’s Equator Rally in Naivasha, Kenya.

The two-day Equator Rally will be the second round of the extended Africa Rally Championship (ARC).

The crew of 8 members includes Yasin Nasser, Duncan Mubiru, Jas Mangat, Ronald Sebuguzi, Kepher Walubi, Hassan Alwi, and Rajiv Ruparelia will boost the event that has attracted a host of continental drivers.

While the rest of the crews have had their share of the ARC event, Ruparelia will be looking forward to making his debut in the highly-rated continental championship.

“It’s just one of those rallies added on our experience journey. Kenya is the ultimate circuit to gain experience.

“We gained some experience from the first round. So our expectations is to first have a clean event and finish the rally hopefully in the good position which will count to the Kenyan championship,” Enoch Olinga, Ruparelia’s navigator and co-driver.

The event is a precursor for the much awaited WRC Safari Rally scheduled for June this year. Eleven stages will be covered; with a total competitive distance of 206.72kms.

On Friday, ARC crews will take on a qualifying stage of 5.40km that will determine their starting position on Saturday. The non ARC registered crews will then take on a shakedown in the same stage.

Full list of 35 ARC Equator Rally Participants 

1 Rajiv Ruparelia -Enoch Olinga F UG -Volkswagen Polo/Proto

2 Tejveer Rai -Gareth Dawe KEN-Volkswagen Polo-R5

3 Ian Duncan -Tej Sehmi KEN -Nissan 240RS -Classic

4 Carl Tundo -Tim Jessop KEN -Mitsubishi Evolution 10

5 Onkar Rai -Drew Sturrock P KENUK Volkswagen Polo -R5

6 Baldev Chager -Ravi Soni KEN – Mitsubishi Evolution 10 RC2-R4

7 Karan Patel -Tauseef KhanKEN-Ford Fiesta -R5

8 Jasmeet Chana -Ravi Chana – Mitsubishi Evolution 10

9 Issa Amwari-Job Njiru KEN Mitsubishi Evolution 10

10 Amaanraj Rai -Oslaj Viljem -UG -SLOV- Ford Fiesta R5

11 Giancarlo Davite -Sylvia Vindevogel RWA- Mitsubishi Evolution 10

12 Pratul Ghose -Imran Khan UK-KEN-Volkswagen Polo

13 Eric Bengi -Peter Mutuma -KEN Mitsubishi Evolution 10

14 Yasin Nasser -Ali Katumba F UGUG-Subaru Impreza

- Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading. -

15 Duncan Mubiru -Musa Nsubuga UG Subaru Impreza

16 Kepher Walubi -Muhamadi Asuman UG Mitsubishi Evolution 10

17 John Ng’ang’a -Edward Ndukui 1 KEN – Subaru Impreza

18 Nikhil Sachania -Deep Patel – KEN – Mitsubishi Evolution 10

19.Aakif Virani -Azhar Bhatti -KEN -Skoda Fabia R5

20 Piero Canobbio -TBA -KEN – Mitsubishi Evolution 10

21 Hassan Alwi -James Mwangi-UG -KEN -Subaru Impreza

22 Mcrae Kimathi -Shameer Yusuf 1 KEN – Subaru Impreza

23 Steve Mwangi -Dennis Mwenda -KEN- Subaru Impreza

24 Guy Botterill -Simon Vacy-Lyle -RSA- Toyota Etios RC2-R5

25 Christakis Fitidis -Eric Nzamwita – UG RWA- Mitsubishi Evolution 10

26 Hussein Malik -Linet Ayuko- Mitsubishi Evolution 10

27 Evans Kavisi -Absolom Aswani 2 KEN – Mitsubishi Evolution 10

- Advertisement. -

28 Ronald Sebuguzi -Anthony Mugambwa UG – Mitsubishi Evolution 10

29 Jonathan Somen -Richard Hechle -KEN -Ford Escort MK2 Classic

30 Kailesh Chauhan -Tariq Malik 2 KEN – Ford Escort RS -Classic

31 Edward Maina -John Ngugi 1 KEN – Subaru Impreza

32 Nzioka Waita -Tuta Mionki -KEN -Mitsubishi Evolution 10

33 Daren Miranda -Wayne Fernandes -KEN- Subaru Impreza RC2

34 Geoff Mayes -Suzanne Zwager -KEN – Landrover Tomcat

35 Hamza Anwar -Riyaz Ismail 2 KEN -Subaru Impreza

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.


Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »