National Basketball League: City Oilers clinch record 9th successive title

National Basketball League (Playoff Finals)
Wednesday, October 10, 2023
KIU Titans 63-78 City Oilers (Oilers win series 4-2)

Uganda’s National Basketball League (NBL) record champions, City Oilers Basketball Club yesterday proved once again that they are the kings of the court after clinching a 9th successive NBL title when they defeated the formidable KIU Titans 78-63 in a resounding match score of the Game 6 NBL playoff finals.

The highly anticipated game, held on Wednesday 25th October 2023, saw both teams in top form, unleashing their skills and battling fiercely for the championship. 

The intensity was palpable as the crowd filled the arena with their cheers, creating an electrifying atmosphere.

- Advertisement -

Both teams got off to a slow start, with the KIU Titans leading the first quarter 13-12. However, the Oilers dominated the second quarter (21-12), building an eight-point advantage at halftime.

Led by their star players, the Oilers displayed remarkable teamwork, seamlessly coordinating their moves and strategies throughout the game. 

Jimmy Enabu led the Oilers with 19 points while Fayed Bbaale and Titus Lual chipped in with 18 and 14 points respectively.

The last quarter was deadlocked 18-18, and the Titans had no chance of winning. City Oilers won the game by 15 points.

Only Peter Obleng and Collins Kasujja scored in double figures for the Titans with 15 and 12 points respectively.

The City Oilers whitewashed the Kampala Rockets before defeating Our Saviour in the semifinals; however, unlike the previous playoff opponents, the KIU Titans were not swept and won two games in the series. fight, determined to snatch the title away from the seven-time defending champions

The Titans showcased their own skills, resilience, and fighting spirit, pushing the Oilers to their limits in a series that captivated basketball.

After a gruelling battle that lasted six games, the Oilers emerged triumphant, winning the series 4-2.

City Oilers defender Titus Laul was named the league’s most valuable player and defensive player of the year.

 The fans erupted in jubilation as their beloved team showcased their championship-worthy performance, celebrating their 9th consecutive NBL title.

This remarkable achievement not only highlights the extraordinary talent and dedication of the Oilers players but also honors their committed coaching staff and the unwavering support of their loyal fans. 

It is a testament to the team’s relentless pursuit of excellence and their unwavering commitment to maintaining their dominant position in Ugandan basketball.

As the City Oilers Basketball Club lifts their 9th consecutive NBL championship trophy, they solidify their status as the undisputed powerhouse of Ugandan basketball. They have etched their names in the history books, leaving an indelible mark on the sport.

As the season comes to a close, basketball enthusiasts can only wonder what the future holds for the City Oilers.

- Advertisement -

Can they continue their unprecedented streak of success, or will new contenders arise to challenge their reign? One thing is for certain – the City Oilers have undoubtedly cemented their legacy and left an indelible mark on Ugandan basketball history.

Full list of NBL Winners

1996: Power
1997: Charging Rhino
1998: Falcons
1999: Falcons
2000: Power
2001: Sky Jammers
2002: Falcons
2003: Falcons
2004: Falcons
2005: Nkumba Marines
2006: Nkumba Marines
2007: Falcons
2008: Power
2009: Warriors
2010: Power
2011: Power
2012: Warriors
2013: City Oilers
2014: City Oilers
2015: City Oilers
2016: City Oilers
2017: City Oilers
2018: City Oilers
2019: City Oilers
2020-21: N/A (COVID)
2022: City Oilers
2023: City Oilers

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or join the Daily Express WhatsApp channel for all the latest news and trends or join the Telegram Channel for the latest updates.

To Top
Translate »