Big Story

NRM MPs told to back off motion censuring commissioners over Shs1.7b service award

Kampala, (UG):- The Deputy Spokesperson of the National Resistance Movement (NRM) Caucus in Parliament, Hon Herbert Kinobere has ordered party MPs to refrain from signing the ongoing censure motion against Commissioners accused of rewarding themselves with a Shs1.7 billion service award.

While addressing journalists at Parliament on Tuesday, June 4, 2024, Hon Kinobere emphasized the importance of seeking guidance from President Yoweri Museveni, the NRM party chairman, before signing the motion.

“I previously advised members to wait for the guidance of my boss, who is the Government Chief Whip, Hamson Obua. He also instructed that no member of the NRM caucus should sign the censure forms until we obtain guidance from the national chairman, President Museveni,” he explained, adding that those who have already signed the motion might be required to withdraw their signatures.

- Advertisement. Article Continues Below. -

Mr Kinobere, however, admitted that the NRM party is aware of corruption charges in parliament and said they need to first do a full investigation before taking action on that matter.

“We don’t rush into things. We investigate, find the source, and determine the cause. As a party, we’ve been aware of it and will find the most effective way to handle it,” Kinobera said.

He further stated that NRM members like Theodore Ssekikubo of Lwemiyaga County, who is spearheading the censure motion, will be expected to attend the caucus meeting. ‘’When we call a caucus meeting, they’ll be expected to attend and explain their actions.”

Kinobere refuted suggestions that President Museveni’s silence indicates approval of alleged corruption.
“The president is not happy with the situation. We await his guidance on the best approach. We don’t endorse these actions, but the chairman’s guidance is crucial.”

“As the Baganda proverb says, ‘With age comes wisdom.’ We await the elder’s wisdom to address these glitches,” he emphasized.

Meanwhile, Lwemiyaga County MP, Hon Theodore Ssekikubo who is leading the move to censure the four backbench commissioners of Parliament, recently revealed that over 120 lawmakers have already signed the censure motion papers.

The commissioners are accused of abuse of office and misconduct for allegedly distributing 1.7 billion shillings among themselves as a service award.

Ssekikubo expressed hope that the required 177 signatures to table and debate the censure motion in Parliament would be collected.

Ssekikubo also urged Speaker Anita Among not to interfere with the process, stating that the motion has nothing to do with her.

During a media briefing at Parliament, the proponents of the motion clarified that the audit trail is focused on the four commissioners of Parliament, not the Speaker, as alleged by the affected commissioners.

They called on MPs not to be intimidated by attempts to discourage them from signing the censure motion, but to remain steadfast and address the issue of corruption that is undermining the integrity of the 11th Parliament.

Among the MPs who have already signed the motion are Agnes Taaka, the Woman MP for Bugiri, Jinja South West MP Dr. Timothy Baluwa, Dr. Nicholas Kamara of Kabale Municipality, Gilbert Olanya of Kilak South, and Burahya County MP Kasaija Stephen, among others.

The petitioners are required to raise at least a total of 177 signatures, as required by the Parliamentary Rule of Procedures.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.

Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »