2021 Election Watch

NUP’s Namboowa becomes first woman to win Butambala’s LCV seat

BUTAMBALA, UGANDA: The National Unity Platform’s (NUP), Rashida Namboowa has gone into books of history as she won the race for LC5 elections in Butambala becoming the first woman to be elected as the district chairperson.

Namboowa was announced winner of the LCV race by the district Electoral Commission Returning Officer, Peace Kyogabire after polling 16754 votes in Wednesday’s local government elections.

National Resistance Movement’s candidate Hajji Muhammad Lwoga trailed in second position with 5856 votes followed by Mariam Nalubega (Independent), former woman Mp Butambala who polled 1626 votes.

Others in the race included Ibrahim Mutyaba (Forum for Democratic Change) who got 588, Edward Ssebuyiira (independent), 283 and Isaac Wamala of Alliance for National Transformation, 151.

ALSO READ:   India to support Uganda’s dairy, grain and cotton sectors

Do you have a story in your community or an opinion to share? Email us on: [email protected] Or Click Here join the Daily Express WhatsApp Group or join our Telegram Channel here to stay up-to-date.

To Top
Translate »