Gomba Defeat Buddu 3-1 to Scoop 5th Masaza Cup Title

MASAZA CUP 2020: Gomba 3-1 Buddu, Venue: St. Mary’s Stadium Kitende (Saturday March 6th)

KITENDE, ENTEBBE: Gomba defeated Buddu 3-1 in a repeat of 2016 final to claim their fifth title in the 2020 Masaza Cup final at St. Mary’s Stadium in Kitende on Saturday, February 06.

The final which allowed only 200 fans in the stadium was graced by the Kabaka of Buganda Ronald Muwenda Mutebi and Kattikiro Charles Peter Mayiga.

- Advertisement. Article Continues Below. -

Charles Bbaale, Abdallah Ssentongo and Gift Ali’s first half goals were enough to give Gomba a victory in waiting while Buddu’s Titus Ssematimba scored the only consolation before full-time.

The record Champions have added another trophy onto their name having lifted it in 2004, 2009, 2013 and 2017.

Gomba FC Players celebrate at full time after defeating Buddu 3-1

To reach the finals, Gomba beat Busiro on penalties 5-3 while Buddu edged Bulemeezi 1-0.

In the third play-off game, Busiro beat Bulemeezi 5-3 on penalties after ending goalless in the 90 minutes, to finish third.

Bbaale who has been impressive for Gomba finished as the tournament top scorer with 8 goals.

Gomba were awarded with a shs 12million prize with the trophy having emerged Champions of the 2020 tournament.

Gomba Starting XI

Francis Anguzu (G.K), Hamis Kefero Dagada, George Kaddu, Abdallah Ssentongo, Fred Gift, Fred Atuhwera, Ali Bayo Arshavin, George Kiryowa, Jackson Ssemugabi,Junior Juma Lutakome, Charles Bbaale.


Peter Katongole (G.K), Derrick Mbowa, Ashraf Zizinga, Isaac Musiima, Colline Seruwu.

Buddu Starting XI

Farouk Yawe Ssebanja (G.K), Angello Kizza, Edward Namasa, Gideon Odongo, Missi Ssemugera, Fahad Nsamba, Titus Ssematimba, Sharif Ssengendo, Marvin Kavuma, Jibril Nsimbe, Frank Sebuufu

Nazir Obbo, Farouk Sekayi, Jovan Mawejje, Emmanuel Mwesigwa.

Past Masaza Cup Winners

2004 – Gomba
2005 – Mawokota
2006 – Kooki 2-2 Bugerere [4-2 pen]
2007 – Mawokota bt Gomba
2008 – Kyaddondo 2-0 Gomba
2009 – Gomba 1-1 Mawogola [5-4 pen]
2010 – not held
2011- Buluuli 2-1 Bulemeezi
2012 – Bulemeezi 1-0 Buweekula
2013 – Mawokota 1-0 Ssingo
2014 – Gomba 0-0 Ssingo [[4-3 pen]
2015 – Ssingo 5-0 Buddu
2016 – Buddu 1-1 Gomba [6-5 pen]
2017 – Gomba 1-0 Ssingo
2018 – Ssingo 1-1 Buddu [12-11 pen]
2019 – Busiro 0-1 Bulemeezi
2020 – Gomba 3-1 Buddu

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.


Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »