Former Kabula MP James Kakooza Replaces Kasamba at EALA

James Kakooza, Former Kabula County MP (File Photo)

The National Resistance Movement (NRM) caucus has voted former MP for Kabula County, Mr. James Kakooza for the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) MP slot.

Kakooza will replace the late Mathias Kasamba who succumbed to COVID-19 on April 27, 2021.

The NRM Central Executive Committee (CEC) had previously indicated that the number of candidates who had expressed interest in the position reduced from 26 to only 5 before submitting the names to the caucus for voting.

In the highly contested race, Kakooza polled 93 votes to emerge the winner, while his closest rival, former minister of state for Tourism, Godfrey Kiwanda Ssubi collected 85 votes.

Other candidates that contested the race include; Mawuye Lule (Former MP Kalungu East County), Nakato Kyabangi (former Gombe Woman MP), and Abas Mutumba (former political assistant to the late Kasamba).

“I, therefore, declare Kakooza James who has polled the highest number of votes (93) representing 39.2% as duly elected Member of Parliament to the East African Legislative Assembly,” Dr. Tanga Odoi, the NRM Electoral Commission Chairman said while announcing Kakooza as the EALA MP flag bearer.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or join the Daily Express WhatsApp Group or Telegram Channel for the latest updates.

To Top
Translate »