Just In

LIST: NRM Elects Caucus Executive Committee

President Museveni (Right) poses for a group with elected members of the NRM Caucus Executive Committee (Photo: @NRMOnline)

The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM) party has elected its executive committee for the party’s Parliamentary Caucus for the next 5 years.

The Committee was elected yesterday by the NRM Parliamentary Caucus at their meeting at Kololo Independence Grounds in Kampala, an event attended by the party’s chairman and President of Uganda, H.E Yoweri Museveni.

The members elected to the NRM Parliamentary Caucus Executive Committee are;-

  1. Vice Chairperson Hon Kinobere Herbert the Member of Parliament for Kibuku,
  2. Secretary General Hon Dr Lilian Aber the Woman Member of Parliament for Kitgum
  3. Treasurer Hon Nakut Faith the Woman Member of Parliament for Nepak and
  4. Publicity Secretary Hon Alex Brandon Kintu the Member of Parliament for Kagoma County.

The NRM Parliamentary Caucus is chaired by Ruhinda North Member of Parliament Hon Thomas Tayebwa who is also the Government Chief Whip (GCW).

According to Hon Thomas Tayebwa, the elected committee is expected to work for the strengthening of the party ideology among the members in Parliament so that they can always have a common voice on issues that are fronted by the Party Central Executive Committee (CEC).

ALSO READ:   LIST: Museveni Appoints New Judges to Court of Appeal, High Court

He explained that some of the CEC members are not Members of Parliament and therefore it’s the duty of the party Parliamentary Caucus Executive Committee Members to ensure that members are oriented on the issues that are in line with the top organs to be fronted in Parliament.

Speaking at the event President Museveni hailed the NRM Parliamentary Caucus members who were elected to the Executive Committee and promised them support during the time they will be in office.

He called upon the NRM Parliamentary Caucus members to get united and always speak with one voice while in Parliament so that the opposition is left at bay.

Earlier in the day, the NRM Parliamentary Caucus members elected former Kabula Member of Parliament Hon James Kakooza to replace the late Mathias Kasamba at the East Africa Legislative Assembly (EALA).

Do you have a story in your community or an opinion to share? Email us on: [email protected] Or Click Here join the Daily Express WhatsApp Group or join our Telegram Channel here to stay up-to-date.

To Top
Translate »