CECAFA U15: Uganda kick off with dominant 15-0 victory over Djibouti

CECAFA U15 2023
Saturday, November 04, 2023
Uganda 15- 0 Djibouti

Njeru, (UG): Uganda’s U15 national football team, (the Rhinos) Saturday kicked off the CECAFA U15 2023 campaign with a resounding 15-0 victory over Djibouti.

The match, held at the FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru, showcased an exceptional performance from the defending champions with a resolute victory showcasing seven different scorers on the afternoon.

Right from the opening whistle, Uganda asserted their authority on the pitch. Rhinos skipper, Abubakali Walusimbi struck the first blow just a minute into the game, setting the tone for a relentless onslaught.

Enock Bagenda, Richard Okello, Frank Ssekanjako, and others joined the scoring frenzy, leaving Djibouti struggling to contain the offensive barrage.

The scoreline reached an astounding 9-0 by the 64th minute, with Enock Bagenda and Richard Okello leading the charge.

The Rhinos displayed remarkable teamwork, precision passing, and clinical finishing throughout the match, leaving the Djibouti defence in shambles.

The final whistle blew with the scoreboard reading 15-0 in favour of Uganda.

Owen Mukisa, Simon Wanyama, and others contributed to the historic victory, leaving fans in awe of the Rhinos’ prowess on the field.

With this emphatic win, Uganda firmly plants their flag in Group A of the CECAFA U15 Championship, alongside Ethiopia, Djibouti, and South Sudan.

Uganda Rhinos’ Starting XI on Saturday afternoon

As the defending champions, the Rhinos have sent a clear message to their rivals in the tournament as they are determined to retain their title and continue their reign as the powerhouse of U15 football in the CECAFA region.

How Both Teams Lined Up

Uganda Starting XI: Ashraf Lukyamuzi (GK) 1, Samuel Mubiru 5, Ratib Gulanyago 6, Frank Ssekanjako 7, Abubakali Walusimbi 8, Richard Okello 11, Pius Oyirwoth 12, Ibra Ssebagala 15, Ronald Kigoye 16, Enock Bagenda 20, Thomas Ogema 22.

Substitutes: Moses Kalule 2, Tom Ssesaazi 3, Simon Wanyama 9, Arafat Nkoola 10, Owen Mukisa 13, Joseph Langol 14, Micheal Kyeyune 17, Ashiraf Maseruka 19, Abdulshakur Babi 23.

Djibouti Starting XI: Mohamed Moussa (GK) 1, Arafat Omar 2, Hassan Dihod 3, Mohamed Osman 4, Ali Yonis 6, Aboubakar Gouleh 7, Mahad Osman 10, Miad Fourreh 11, Abdi-Sadik Ali 13, Mohamed Mohamed 16, Bilal Hassan 20.

Substitutes: Houssein Omar 5, Ahmed Hassan 8, Houssein Mohamed 9, Arafat Houmed 12, Abdo Hassan 14, Houssein Mahamoud 15, Sahal Kayad 17, Gouled Ismael 18, Abdimaguid Moussa 19.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.

Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »