FULL LIST: Ugandan actors, Nigerian stars bag accolades at iKON Awards 2024

Nigerian stars Osita Iheme aka PawPaw (L) and actress Nancy Isime were one of a handful of Nigerians honoured at the Ikon Awards at Serena Kampala at the weekend. (Photo/Courtesy)

Kampala, (UG):– The prestigious iKon Awards 2024 saw several creatives from Uganda and Africa win accolades for their contributions towards the Film Industry.

Polly Kamukama and Joseph Ken Ssebaggala’s drama – Unheard – was the top winner at the 2nd edition of the awards held over the weekend at the Kampala Serena Hotel.

The film Unheard – starring Jackline Katusime, Joseph Kahirimbanyi and Cyril Baryabawe – won the Best Film Award in addition to six other accolades, namely: Best Director, Best Actress in a Leading Role, Best Sound, Best Makeup and Special Effects; Best Production Design and; Emerging Film Award.

Unheard is voiced in the Rukiga dialect and was shot in Rwenshama and Kabale in Western Uganda and tells the story of a young widow in a remote fishing village in South Western Uganda who stuns her community by defying a centuries-old tradition.

While accepting the award, Polly Kamukama said she had been working on this film since 2011 while at university.

“I’d been scarred by a particular moment in my childhood and the original idea was to write a story about my mother. But as I grew older, as a journalist, I interviewed women riding boda bodas (motorcycle taxis), driving taxis, female boxers in Katanga slum and other women who were shattering ceilings and making a difference who were brave enough to defy all these entrenched cultural traditions,” Kamukama noted.

“These ladies were inspiring the next generation of women, and this is a story that resonated with me and my mother. I’m so grateful that you all believed in my story,” she added.

Gender Minister Amongi, who represented President Museveni, again made a case for intellectual property rights.

“The President has asked that we enact a law to protect intellectual property from plagiarism. Secondly, we need to monetize the content. People have talked about shared collaboration with Nigeria. We saw Kenzo and Bobi Wine get international nominations, and we are so proud of such people. So, it’s high time the government supported Ugandan talent. I thank the Ugandan youth who have occupied the international scene,” she said.


Best Film
The Kitara Chronicles – Yiga Sadat, Kizito Sudaisy Sebbowa
The Passenger – Meddy Sserwada, Hadijah Nakanjako

Unheard – Polly Kamukama, Joseph Ken Ssebaggala (WINNER)
All for Love – Okurut Nego Paul

Best Director

Joseph Ken Ssebaggala – Unheard (WINNER)
Hadijah Nakanjako – The Passenger
Yiga Sadat – The Kitara Chronicles
Patrick Lorimo – Maid of Honor

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Fauziah Nakiboneka – Maid of Honor

Jackline Katusiime – Unheard (WINNER)
Rehema Mutesi – Ganyana
Tania Shakirah Kankindi – All for Love

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Kenneth Rukundo – All for Love
Fenando Kamugisha – The Fallen Advocate

Henry Nathan Katongole – The Passenger (WINNER)
Masadde Isa Yusuf – The Kitara Chronicles

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Joseph Kahirimbanyi – Unheard
Mathew Kavuma – Maid of Honor

Blair Koono – Enkuba (WINNER)
Sulait Mulimira – Ganyana

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Edith Baganda – Maid of Honor

Allen Musumba – The Passenger (WINNER)
Diana Kahunde – All for Love
Florence Naiga – Ganyana

Best Director of Photography
The Fallen Advocate – Benson Kamau Muigai

The Passenger – Izaek Ekuka (WINNER)
Unheard – Kitsha Kyasi Joseph
The Kitara Chronicles – Kizito Sudaisy Sebbowa

Best Screenplay
The Kitara Chronicles by Yiga Sadat, Masadde Isa Yusuf
The Passenger by Meddy Sserwada

Maid of Honor by Patrick Lorimo (WINNER)
Unheard by Polly Kamukama

Best Sound
Elly Musinguzi – Nkwanzi’s Slip
Simon Agola, Michael Kavuma – Maid of Honor
Isiko Abubaker – The Passenger

Kaz Kasozi – Unheard (WINNER)

Best Editor

Emma Daka Waira – The Passenger (WINNER)
Joseph Ken Ssebaggala – Unheard
Derrick Taremwa – Enkuba
Okurut Nego Paul – All for Love

Best Costume Design

- Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading. -

Nabanja Hikmah, Lukwago Paluku, Tumusiime Jackie – The Kitara Chronicles (WINNER)
Kyosiima Ginny – Unheard
Matilda Kavuma – Maid of Honor
Julian Kirabo, Ali Musinguzi, Isaac Kyakoonye, Patricia Nabirye – The Tale of Our Times

Best Makeup and Special Effects
Esther Nakaziba – Maid of Honor

Rose Lily Kebirungi – Unheard (WINNER)
Lisa Sonia, Shadia Nakaddu, Cathy Kyokunda, Joana Nabakiibi – The Tale of Our Times
Hikmah Nabbanja, Patience Nakibuka Shadia – The Kitara Chronicles

Best Production Design

Francis Byaruhanga – Unheard (WINNER)

Rutaro Abel – The Tale of Our Times
Yiga Sadat – The Kitara Chronicles
Imran Musabeh – The Passenger

Best Visual Effects
Cruz Abdullah, Faisal Mukalazi, Patrick Chris Black – The Tale of Our Times

Tusingwire Alex – The Kitara Chronicles (WINNER)
Wavamuno Caeser, Suuna Abubakar – Enkuba

Best Short Film
Taama – Arthur Nsubuga
Ziwa – Samuel Tebandeke

Building 62 – Hakim Zziwa (WINNER)
The Last Shoemaker – Ali Musoke

Best Documentary

The Shadow Pandemic – Ssekandi Jimmy (WINNER)
The Land of Peace – Ali Kibirige, Herbert Jjuuko, James Twino
Dear Queen – Jamir Jamal Musenze

Best Animation Film
The Guardian – Denis Junior Dhikusooka

Herderboy – Raymond Malinga (WINNER)
Lost – Ashiraf Mulima

Best TV Series
Prestige – Nathan Magoola

Damalie – Doreen Mirembe (WINNER)
Beloved – Nathan Magoola

Best Actor in a TV Series
Raymond Rushabiro – Prestige
Dennis Kinani – Damalie

Symon Base Kalema – Prestige (WINNER)

Best Actress in a TV Series

- Advertisement. -

Doreen Mirembe – Damalie (WINNER)
Sally Elizabeth Bwamimpeke – Prestige
Faith Kirabo – Beloved

Best Student Film
Find Me Online – Brian “Vons” Mukisa
I Sold Me Out – Lubeera Saphina
Scold’s Bridle – Ssemwogerere Nurudeen

Silent Scream – Otim Gerald (WINNER)

Ikon Rising Star
Faith Kirabo
Joseph Kahirimbanyi

King Missy Ochola (WINNER)

Ikon Rising Star (Africa)
Nancy Isime

Lifetime Achievement Award
Michael Wawuyo Sr.

Emerging Film Award

African Ikon Award
Osita Iheme

The Ikon Awards are an initiative of Reach A Hand Uganda (RAHU) as a platform to recognise and celebrate innovation and creativity in Uganda’s film and television industry and supported by Sauti Plus Media Hub, UNESCO, Radiant, Uganda Airlines, Kampala Serena Hotel, Next Media, Divine Resort Mukono, Sozo Films, Coal360, ATS Events, Light For The world, Aquafina, Cinema UG, Uganda Key Populations Consortium, Media Challenge Initiative, Print Creations and Ramsey Films.

The awards were attended by special guests from Nigeria’s film industry, including Ramsey Nouah; Osite Iheme; Nancy Isime, Chris Odeh and Uche Ateli.

This year’s edition saw a total of 203 films and series submitted for nomination.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: dailyexpressug@gmail.com Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.


Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »