Parliament welcomes Balaam, Omona among four new faces joining August House

The Dokolo Woman MP-Elect, Sarah Aguti, taking oath on Wednesday, 03 April 2024 in the Chamber. She was escorted by UPC Party MPs

Kampala, (UG):- Parliament has officially welcomed four new Members of Parliament who joined the August House following their respective appointments and election to the chambers as representatives.

The four new members who include ex-officios; Youth Minister Balaam Barugahara, and Dr Keneth Omona, Northern Uganda Affairs minister took their respective oaths during the plenary sitting on Wednesday, 03 April 2024 presided over by Deputy Speaker, Thomas Tayebwa.

Dokolo District Woman MP, Hon. Sarah Nyangkori Aguti, on the UPC ticket, was the first to take the Oath of Allegiance and the Oath of a Member of Parliament.

Hon. Aguti, who committed to deliver true representation, replaces the late Hon. Cecilia Ogwal, who passed on in January 2024.

David Ochwa, replaces Polycarp Ogwari as the Agule County MP, following a Court of Appeal ruling last month that ejected the latter from the House citing his illegal nomination for the 2021 general elections.

Thereafter, Hon. Kenneth Omona, the Minister of State for Northern Uganda and Hon. Balaam Barugahara, the Minister of State for Gender, Labour and Social Development (Youth and Children Affairs), both ex officio members, also took their oaths.

The duo was appointed to Cabinet on 21 March 2024 alongside Hon. Phiona Nyamutooro, the State for Energy and Mineral Development (Minerals), and Gen. Wilson Mbasu Mbadi, the Minister of State for Trade, Industry and Cooperatives (Trade).

- Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading. -
Minister Balaam Barugahara, taking oath as an ex officio member

Hon. Barugahara promised to serve the country while Hon. Omona said that he was glad to return to Parliament after many years away.

Hon. Nyamutooro and Gen. Mbadi did not take the oaths upon their appointment as they are elected Members of Parliament. The former expressed gratitude to the President for recognising and capitalising on the energy that young people have to offer in the leadership of Uganda.

“I pledge that as a representative of the young people, our pace is set and we look forward to seeing how best Uganda can fully utilise its natural resources to fast track our development as a country,” she said.

- Advertisement. -

As of April 03, 2024, there are 556 MPs in the 11th Parliament, 81 of whom serve as ministers.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.


Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »