Just In

JUST IN: Speakership Elections postponed to May 24

Rt. Hon. Rebecca Kadaga, the incumbent Speaker of Parliament

PARLIAMENT: Exclusive news reaching our desk confirm that elections for both Speaker and Deputy Speaker of the 11th Parliament have been postponed by three days to May 24, 2021.

A source in the Parliamentary Commission intimated to DailyExpress that the much-anticipated elections originally scheduled for May 21, 2021, have been pushed ahead to give time to political parties to caucus with their respective members.

“We have resolved to have the election on 24th (May 2021) to allow internal party caucusing,” said a source that preferred anonymity.

The election was meant to happen immediately after the swearing in of the new MPs, which will run from May 17, 2021 to May 20, 2021.

The election will now be on the Monday May 24, 2021.

The postponement follows a letter written by the Prime Minister, Ruhakana Rugunda, who is also the Leader of Government Business in Parliament, asking Speaker Rebecca Kadaga to postpone the election.

ALSO READ:   Over 40 detained in Jinja for protesting skyrocketing prices

“Parties might be interested in meeting their various honorable members through their various caucuses before the election of the Rt. Hon. Speaker. This may necessitate adjusting the program or the election of the Speaker,” said Rugunda.


Rugunda did not propose a date, leaving it at the discretion of Kadaga, who is also the chairperson of the Parliamentary Commission.


The race for the Speaker has the incumbent Rebecca Kadaga and her deputy Jacob Oulanyah from the ruling National Resistance Movement party.

The opposition Forum for Democratic Change has fronted the Kiira Municipality MP, Ibrahim Ssemujju Nganda.

The Democratic Party has the Bukoto Central MP elect, Richard Ssebamala, who defeated the vice president Edward Ssekandi in the last parliamentary elections. Ssebamala is yet to be endorsed by the DP.

The Rakai Woman MP, Juliet Ssuubi Kinyamatama is also standing for Speaker of Parliament. She is going to be an independent member in the 11th Parliament though she is currently NRM.

ALSO READ:   Opposition puts French diplomats on the spot over oil

The Deputy Speaker’s race has Thomas Tayebwa of Ruhinda North; Jacob Oboth Oboth of Budama West Budama South; Bukedea Woman MP, Anita Among and Gomba Woman MP, Robinah Rwakoojo from the NRM.

FDC two weeks ago announced its endorsement for Mawokoota South MP-elect, Yusuf Mafabi for the position of Deputy Speaker.

Do you have a story in your community or an opinion to share? Email us on: [email protected] Or Click Here join the Daily Express WhatsApp Group or join our Telegram Channel here to stay up-to-date.

To Top
Translate »