Just In

Parliament approves appointment of seven new ministers

Parliament vets, clears seven new ministersAttorney General Kiryowa Kiwanuka was also cleared (Parliament photo)

The Parliamentary Appointments Committee has on Tuesday vetted and cleared seven new ministers who were recently appointed by President Museveni to his cabinet.

With the approval of Hon. Jessica Alupo as Vice President and Hon. Robinah Nabbanja as Prime Minister, the committee today turned focus on the new ministers.

Chaired by the Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Hon. Anita Among, the committee started with the Education and Sports Minister, Janet Kataaha Museveni who appeared before via zoom. She would later be cleared

Other ministers vetted included Hon. Rebecca Kadaga (1st Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for East African Community Affairs ), Gen Moses Ali (2nd Deputy Prime Minister), Thomas Tayebwa (Chief Government Whip), Rukia Nakadama (3rd Deputy Prime Minister and Minister without Port-folio), Jim Muhwezi (Security) , Kiryowa Kiwanuka (Attorney General) and Justine Kasule Lumumba (General Duties) also appeared before the committee and were duly cleared.

The appointments committee is instituted by the president under the Constitution or any other appointment required to be approved by parliament.

ALSO READ:   Eight more companies join VU, Premier Recruitment to sponsor Jinja "Sexy Speed" Rally

The members of the committee are Gen Peter Elwelu(UPDF), John Baptist Nambeshe, Aisha Kabanda and Joseph Ssewungu all from the National Unity Platform whereasformer Leader of Opposition Betty Aol Ochan and Isaias Ssasaga will represent Forum for Democratic Change on the committee.

Others are Alum Santa Sandra(UPC), Peter Okot(DP),Asuman Basaalirwa (JEEMA) and Santa Okot(PPP).

From the ruling NRM party, are 22 MPs on the committee including Joyce Moriku Kaducu, Frank Tumwebaze, Okullu Abuka, Betty Engola, Rose Akello, Dr. Florence Assimwe, Sarah Mateke, Arinaitwe Rwakajara, Fred Kambale, Diana Mutansingwa, and Sarah Najjuma.

Others are David Kabanda, Robinah Rwakojo, Cissy Namuju, James Kubeketeriya, Denis Orone, Patrick Aeku, Irene Muloni, Fadil Twalla, Alex Ndezi, Benard Odoi and Catherine Mavenjina.

Do you have a story in your community or an opinion to share? Email us on: [email protected] Or Click Here join the Daily Express WhatsApp Group or join our Telegram Channel here to stay up-to-date.

To Top
Translate »