UK removes all African countries from the red list

Customers at a check-in desk in the departures hall Heathrow Airport in west London on December 21, 2020. PHOTO | AFP

LONDON, UK: The United Kingdom has removed all 11 African countries from its red list. The bans were first imposed last month in order to slow the spread of the Omicron variant of Covid-19.

- Advertisement. Article Continues Below. -

The bans restricted travel between those states and the UK with only British or Irish nationals or those with residency in the UK being allowed to re-enter the country.

 The affected African countries included, Angola, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The restrictions will be lifted at 04:00 GMT Wednesday.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.


Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »