FULL LIST: Tshisekedi returns ex-VP Bemba as Deputy Premier in new cabinet reshuffle

The list of the newly appointed cabinet ministers was made public on Thursday night, and, like the old government, the new one has 57 ministers.

Former Congolese vice president Jean-Pierre Bemba who now joins President Felix Tshisekedi's government as deputy prime minister for Defence. PHOTO | JOHN THYS | AFP

President Felix Tshisekedi of the Democratic Republic of Congo has returned former vice president Jean-Pierre Bemba to his cabinet in a new reshuffle ahead of elections.

The list of the new team was made public on Thursday night, and, like the old government, the new one has 57 ministers.

In the sweeping changes, the Congolese head of state has put a new command at the country’s defence and security docket.

Tshisekedi has appointed his ally Bemba the deputy prime minister for Defence. The former vice president was detained for over 10 years for war crimes. He was acquitted by the International Criminal Court (ICC) in 2018 after spending 11 years in custody. He was arrested in Belgium on a war crimes warrant from the ICC in relation to the ravaging war the rocked Congo and the neighbouring Central African Republic.

- Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading. -

Peter Kazadi becomes the deputy prime minister for Interior and Security replacing Daniel Aselo. Mbusa Nyamwisi, another former warlord who has extensive knowledge of the eastern part of the DRC where he is originally from, has been appointed minister for Regional Integration.

The reshuffle has also seen the return of Vital Kamerhe to the management of public affairs. The former Director of Cabinet in Tshisekedi’s administration has been appointed the deputy prime minister for Economy. He had earlier been removed from Tshisekedi’s government then jailed for nearly two years for corruption and embezzlement, before being acquitted.

Journalist François Kabulo has been appointed the ministry for Sports. He will be tasked with restoring the prestige of Congolese sports a few months before the Francophonie games which are scheduled for July this year in the DRC.

- Advertisement. -

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.

Below is the New Full cabinet list:

Deputy Prime Ministers

  1. Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Interior, Security and Customary Affairs: Kazadi Kankonde Peter
  2. Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of National Defense and Veterans: Bemba Gombo Jean-Pierre
  3. Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of National Economy: Kamerhe Vital
  4. Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Francophonie: Christophe Lutundula Apala
  5. Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Civil Service, Modernization of Administration and Innovation of Public Service: Jean-Pierre Lihau Ebua.

Ministers of State

  1. Minister of State, Minister of the Environment and Sustainable Development: Ève Bazaiba Masudi
  2. Minister of State, Minister of Justice, Keeper of the Seals: Rose Mutombo Kiese
  3. Minister of State, Minister of Infrastructure and Public Works: Alexis Gizaro Muvuni
  4. Minister of State, Minister for Regional Cooperation: Antipas Mbusa Nyamwisi
  5. Minister of State, Minister of the Budget: Aimé Boji Sangara
  6. Minister of State, Minister of Portfolio: Adèle Kahinda Mayina
  7. Minister of State, Minister of Planning: Tsuminwa Tuluka Judith
  8. Minister of State, Minister of Town Planning and Housing: Pius Muabilu Mbayu Mukala
  9. Minister of State, Minister of Rural Development: François Rubota Masumbuko
  10. Minister of State, Minister of Decentralization and Institutional Reforms: Eustache Muhanzi Mubembe
  11. Minister of State, Minister of Regional Planning: Guy Loando Mboyo


  1. Minister of Finance: Nicolas Kazadi
  2. Minister of Public Health, Hygiene and Prevention: Kamba Mulanda Samuel-Roger
  3. Minister of Agriculture: José Mpanda Kabangu
  4. Minister of Primary, Secondary and Technical Education (EPST): Tony Mwaba Kazadi
  5. Minister of Transport, Ways of Communication and Opening Up: Ekila Likombo Marc
  6. Minister of Employment, Labor and Social Welfare: Ms. Ndusi Ntembe Claudine
  7. Minister of Fisheries and Livestock: Adrien Bokele Djema
  8. Minister of Industry: Julien Paluku Kahongya
  9. Minister of Entrepreneurship and Small and Medium Enterprises: Zinga Birihanze Désiré
  10. Minister of Higher and University Education (ESU): Muhindo Nzangi
  11. Minister of Scientific Research and Technological Innovation: Gilbert Kabanda Rukemba
  12. Minister of Mines: Antoinette Nsamba Kalambayi
  13. Minister of Hydrocarbons: Didier Budimbu Ntubuanga
  14. Minister of Posts, Telecommunications and New Information and Communication Technologies (PTNTIC): Augustin Kibassa Maliba Lubalala
  15. Minister of Digital: Désiré Cashmir Eberande Kolongele
  16. Minister of Land Affairs: Aimé Sakombi Molendo
  17. Minister of Hydraulic Resources and Electricity: Olivier Mwenze Mukaleng
  18. Minister of Foreign Trade: Jean-Lucien Bussa Tongba
  19. Minister of Human Rights: Albert Fabrice Puela
  20. Minister of Gender, Family and Children: Masangu Bibi Muloko Mireille
  21. Minister of Tourism: Didier Mazenga Mukanzu
  22. Minister of Communications and Media, Government Spokesperson: Patrick Muyaya Katembwe
  23. Minister of Social Affairs, Humanitarian Actions and National Solidarity: Modeste Mutinga Mutushayi
  24. Minister of Vocational Training and Trades: Antoinette Kipulu Kabenga
  25. Minister of Youth, Initiation to New Citizenship and National Cohesion: Yves Bunkulu Zola
  26. Minister of Sports and Recreation: François Kabulo Mwana Kabulo
  27. Minister of Culture, Arts and Heritage: Catherine Katumbu Furaha
  28. Minister for Relations with Parliament: Anne-Marie Karume Bakaneme
  29. Minister to the President of the Republic: Nana Manuanina Kihimba
  30. Minister Delegate to the Minister of Social Affairs, Humanitarian Actions and National Solidarity Responsible for people living with disabilities and other vulnerable people: Irène Esambo Diata

Deputy Ministers:

  1. Deputy Minister of the Interior, Security, Decentralization and Customary Affairs: Jean-Claude Molipe Mandongo
  2. Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs: Bandu Panzu Crispin
  3. Deputy Minister of Justice: Mambu Lawu Thadée
  4. Deputy Minister of Planning: Bitika Omana Pascal
  5. Deputy Budget Minister: Elysée Bokumuamua Maposo
  6. Deputy Minister of National Defence: Adubango Awoto Samy
  7. Deputy Minister of Finance: Onyege Nsele Mimpa
  8. Deputy Minister of Mines: Godard Motemona Gibolum
  9. Deputy Minister of Public Health and Prevention: Olen Obe A Nzem Serge
  10. Deputy Minister of EPST: Aminata Namasiya Bazego
  11. Deputy Minister of Hydrocarbons: Moleka Nsolo Wivine
  12. Deputy Minister of Transport and Communication: Kilubu Kutuna Séraphine.


Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »