Jacob Kiplimo crowned Uganda’s Best Sports Personality 2022

Kampala, (UG): Long-distance ace Jacob Kiplimo was on Saturday night named the USPA-Nile Special Uganda Sports Personality of the Year 2022.

Kiplimo was recognised on his very first Uganda Sports Personality of the Year award for claiming gold medals in both the 5,000 and 10,000-meter races at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham, United Kingdom 2022.

This success followed his bronze medal win in the 10,000 meters at the World Championships in Eugene, Oregon, United States earlier in 2022. Kiplimo as a result, also secured the Men’s Athlete of the Year award for 2022, while Prisca Chesang was honoured in the Women’s category.

The glamourous annual awards organised by the Uganda Sports Press Association (USPA) and Nile Breweries at Imperial Royale Hotel in Kampala were being held for the first time since the break caused by the COVID-19 epidemic. It was a unique two-in-one celebration that also recognized the outstanding athletes for the year 2021.

The Uganda Rugby Sevens won the best team award for 2022

In the belated 2021 awards, Joshua Cheptegei bagged his third consecutive title following the ones in 2018 and 2019. He was hailed because of winning gold and silver medals in the 5,000- and 10,000-meter events at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.

In addition to his Sports Personality award for 2021, Cheptegei was named the Men’s Athlete of the Year, while Peruth Chemutai earned the honour in the Women’s category.

The awards held at Imperial Royale hotel on Saturday, September 23, 2023, were graced by close to 500 guests including; National Council of Sports Chairman Ambrose Tashobya, USPA founder Fredrick Sekitto, FUFA president  Eng: Moses Magogo, Uganda Olympic committee chairman Dr. Donald Rukare and Uganda Netball Federation acting president Brig. Flavia Byekwaso.

Politicians including Kampala Central Division Mayor Salim Uhuru and Member of Parliament Bugiri Municipality Asuman Basalirwa, Budiope Moses Magogo attended the must-attend awards.

Several other individuals and teams received awards, including Mary Nuba (Netball, 2021), Dinesh Nakrani (Cricket, 2021), and Express FC (Football, 2021).

The 2022 winners included Phillip Wokorach (Rugby Men), Charlotte Mudoola (Women), Milton Karisa (Football, Men), Tonny Drileba (Basketball, Men), Rose Akon (Basketball, Women), and Joan Nampungu (Netball), among others.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or follow the Daily Express on or for the latest updates.

Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »