The Best FIFA Awards 2023: Here’s the full list of winners and FIF Pro XI

In a glamorous ceremony that unfolded the pinnacle of football excellence, the eighth edition of The Best FIFA Football Awards hosted in London on Monday night left fans and players alike in awe as they witnessed the crowning of the best in the sport.

The first award of the evening went to Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola, who received The Best FIFA Men’s Coach prize, while England manager, Sarina Wiegman was crowned the Best FIFA Women’s Coach, winning the award for a record four times.

Below is a comprehensive breakdown of all the winners from the prestigious event:

The Best FIFA Men’s Player: Lionel Messi
In a continuation of his illustrious career, Lionel Messi once again claimed the title of The Best FIFA Men’s Player for the third time, showcasing his enduring prowess and undeniable impact on the pitch.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player: Aitana Bonmati
Aitana Bonmati’s outstanding performances for Barcelona earned her The Best FIFA Women’s Player, recognizing her skill, dedication, and influence in the women’s game.

- Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading. -

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Pep Guardiola
Pep Guardiola’s managerial brilliance at Manchester City secured him The Best FIFA Men’s Coach, a testament to his tactical acumen and leadership in guiding his team to success.

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper: Ederson
Ederson’s exceptional goalkeeping skills were acknowledged with The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award, cementing his reputation as one of the world’s premier shot-stoppers.

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper: Mary Earps
Manchester United Women’s Mary Earps claimed The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper, showcasing her goalkeeping prowess and contributing to her team’s success.

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach: Sarina Wiegman
Sarina Wiegman’s remarkable coaching achievements, particularly with Barcelona, earned her The Best FIFA Women’s Coach, highlighting her impact on the women’s game.

The FIFA Puskas Award: Guilherme Madruga (for Botafogo v Novorizontino)
Guilherme Madruga’s stunning goal in the match between Botafogo and Novorizontino secured him the coveted FIFA Puskas Award, celebrating the most exceptional goal of the year.

England manager Sarina Wiegman pictured delivering a speech after being named The Best FIFA Women's Coach for 2023
England manager Sarina Wiegman pictured delivering a speech after being named The Best FIFA Women’s Coach for 2023IMAGO/PA Images/John Walton


Six Man City players featured in the FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11. Ederson was not one of them, but the Brazilian was later named The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper.

Goalkeeper: Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)

Defenders: Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal), John Stones (Manchester City, England), Kyle Walker (Manchester City, England).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund/Real Madrid, England), Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium), Bernardo Silva (Manchester City, Portugal)

Forwards: Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway), Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain, France), Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain/Inter Miami, Argentina), Vinicius Jr (Real Madrid, Brazil)


Mary Earps won The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper award and was one of seven England players to feature in the FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11.

Goalkeeper: Mary Earps (Manchester United, England)

Defenders: Lucy Bronze (Barcelona, England), Olga Carmona (Real Madrid, Spain), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City, England)

Midfielders:, Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona, Spain), Ella Toone (Manchester United, England), Keira Walsh (Barcelona, England)

Forwards: Lauren James (Chelsea, England), Sam Kerr (Chelsea, Australia), Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave, USA), Alessia Russo (Manchester United/Arsenal, England)

Other awards

The 2023 FIFA Puskas Award went to Brazilian midfielder Guilherme Madruga for his stunning 25-yard overhead kick for Botafogo against Novorizontino.

- Advertisement. -

The Brazil men’s national team won the Fair Play Award for their efforts fighting racism in solidarity with Vinicius Junior.

The FIFA Awards 2023 not only recognized individual brilliance but also celebrated the collective excellence of football’s finest talents across the globe.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or join the Daily Express WhatsApp channel for all the latest news and trends or join the Telegram Channel for the latest updates.

Daily Express is Uganda's number one source for breaking news, National news, policy analytical stories, e-buzz, sports, and general news.

We resent fake stories in all our published stories, and are driven by our tagline of being Accurate, Fast & Reliable.

Copyright © 2024 Daily Express Uganda. A Subsidiary of Rabiu Express Media Group Ltd.

To Top
Translate »