Latest News

Nakaseke’s Luttamaguzi tipped to replace Ssewungu as DP chief whip

Democratic Party (DP) members have asked their National Executive Committee (NEC) to replace the party Parliament chief whip, Mr Joseph Ssewungu (Kalungu West), with Mr Paulson Ssemakula Luttamaguzi (Nakaseke South), citing loyalty issues.

During a press conference at their offices at Balintuma Road in Kampala City yesterday, the members said Mr Luttamaguzi’s loyalty to the party is unquestionable, and therefore fit to lead the party in Parliament.

Mr Shafik Nambaale, the DP chairman for Kampala, said Mr Ssewungu cannot continue to be their whip after he defected to the National Unity Platform (NUP) Party that is led by presidential hopeful Robert Kyagulanyi, alias Bobi Wine. He was among the 10 MPs that defected to NUP.

“We request that NEC considers MP Luttamaguzi as our next chief whip,” Ms Nambaale said.
Sources in DP said the proposal has been agreed on informally by the party members.

Mr Luttamaguzi and the other five MPs, who stayed in DP, were appreciated for their resilience.
Mr Norbert Mao, the party president, who was present at the press briefing, declined to respond to questions about the proposal, saying he was mainly focusing on rebranding the party.

ALSO READ:   Police officer shoots dead footballer in Abim

Mr Mao said members interested in party positions should participate in the NEC meeting due next week.
The party has faced leadership challenges over the years. In 2005 when the Parliamentary Advocacy Forum and Reform Agenda formed to FDC, DP lost its members. Only Patrick Musisi (now deceased), Mr Mao and Issa Kikungwe (deceased) remained in the party.

Do you have a story in your community or an opinion to share? Email us on: [email protected] Or Click Here join the Daily Express WhatsApp Group or join our Telegram Channel here to stay up-to-date.

To Top
Translate »