Election Watch

NRM Sweeps Mayoral seats in Mbarara, Fort Portal Divisions

2021 ELECTION WATCH: The ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM ) has emerged with the biggest hare in mayoral polls in the divisions of Mbarara and Fort portal city. 

Mbarara, one of the new cities that started operations on  July 1, 2020 is divided into Mbarara City North, and Mbarara City South of which all divisions were won by the ruling party.

According to elections results from polls held on Monday, NRM’s Gumisiriza Kyabwiso won the mayoral race for Mbarara City North Division with 9,185 votes to beat five other candidates. Benon Mugume (Ind.) followed in second with 6,958 votes, Johns Asingwire 405 and Naboth Ainemaani of the National Unity Platform only 249 votes.

- Advertisement -

Meanwhile, Jomo Mugabi Jamidin, another NRM candidate was declared the winner in Mbarara City Division South with a collection of 16,321 votes beating five other contenders in the mayoral race.

The others who trailed him are Quraish Segawa of NUP who polled 2,793 votes, Benson Tumuheirwe with 1,807 votes and Godwin Byekwaso who had 1,436 votes.

The NRM also took charge of the divisions in Fort Portal, another newly created city.

According to the Fort Portal Returning  Officer James Mugenyi,  Richard Muhumuza, the former chairperson of West Division Fort Portal Municipality, defeated five opponents to take the Fort Portal Central Division mayoral seat.

Muhumuza garnered 6,990 votes while his closest rival, Joram Bintamanya of the Forum for Democratic Change – FDC polled 3,869 votes. The others in the race included independent candidates Herbert Mugisa who got 2,193 votes and Gilbert Kayondo, the former speaker pf Fort Portal Municipal Council who got 1,010 votes.

- Advertisement -

Davis Rwamuhumbu of National Unity Platform – NUP party got 235 votes and independent candidate Yasin Abdullah came last with only 132 votes. In North Division, Joseph Mashuhuko of NRM won with 9,736 votes beating Pascal Kato Byoma who had 2,049 votes. 

Mashuhuko was the Karambi Sub County councillor to Kabarole District Council. However, when Fort Portal city was being created, Karambi was annexed to the then Fort Portal Municipality with Bukuuku Sub County and Karago town council to form the North Division. 

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: dailyexpressug@gmail.com Or join the Daily Express WhatsApp channel for all the latest news and trends or join the Telegram Channel for the latest updates.

To Top
Translate »