Bayern Munich crowned 2020/21 Bundesliga champions, clinch 9th title in a row

Bayern Munich were crowned Bundesliga champions for the ninth successive season (Courtesy Photo)

Bayern Munich were on Saturday crowned Bundesliga champions for the ninth successive season ahead of their clash against Borussia Mönchengladbach.

Borussia Dortmund beat RB Leipzig 3-2 in the earlier set of fixtures, meaning they were mathematically unable to be caught with just two games remaining.

England winger Jadon Sancho netted twice in Dortmund’s home win which crowned Bayern as champions without kicking a ball before their home game against Borussia Moenchengladbach later on Saturday.

Before they even kick off, Bayern have an unassailable 71 points to Leipzig’s 64.

“I don’t think anyone has ever become champions before while in the team bus on the way to the stadium!” Dortmund head coach Edin Terzic said in congratulating Bayern.

The victory lifted Dortmund into the Champions League places, but Eintracht Frankfurt can knock them out of fourth place if they beat Mainz on Sunday.

Even without star striker Erling Braut Haaland, Dortmund were 2-0 up at the start of the second half thanks to goals from Marco Reus and Sancho.

Leipzig fought back with a Lukas Klostermann header before Dani Olmo equalised only for Sancho to grab the winner with superb footwork.

Under Hansi Flick, the Bavarian side have scored 86 goals this season (more than any other side) and lost just four times; although they were unable to repeat their treble winning heroics from last term.

Bayern will also welcome Julian Nagelsmann as their new head coach in July – alongside RB Leipzig defender Dayot Upamecano – as they aim to secure ten titles in a row.

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or join the Daily Express WhatsApp Group or Telegram Channel for the latest updates.

To Top
Translate »