Uganda Cranes, Mali share spoils in FIFA World Cup Qualifiers

Uganda Cranes Captain Emmanuel Okwi battles for ball against Mali Players on Monday evening at St. Mary's Stadium Kitende

FIFA World Cup 2022 Qualifiers (Group E)
Monday, September 6: Uganda Cranes 0-0 Mali at FULL TIME

KAMPALA, UGANDA: Uganda Cranes played out a goalless draw with Mali Les Aigles on Monday evening to record a second successive draw of the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifying campaign.

Uganda Cranes played the best part of the second half with only ten men after defender Murushid Juuko was shown marching orders in a tense match played at the St. Mary’s Stadium in Kitende on Monday evening.

Mauritius referee Heeralall Ahmad penalized Murushid with a straight red card following an ugly foul when he elbowed Mali striker Ibrahima Kone in the corner flag.

Uganda’s only best chances came in set-pieces – Isaac Muleme and Mustafa Kizza both saw their free-kicks punched out for corners.

Mali were dominant and will feel unlucky not to walk away with maximum points. However, they also failed to create open chances against a Uganda Cranes side that barely threatened upfront.

ALSO READ:   Speke Resort partners with FIM Motocross to offer world-class hospitality to riders ahead of Garuga drive

Uganda Cranes, yet to score in the campaign, are third in Group E with two points while Mali leads the group with four points after two matches.

Micho and the Cranes will return to action in October in a doubleheader against Rwanda – The first game will be played on October 6 in Kigali before the return leg in Kampala four days later.

Cranes Head Coach Micho

Uganda Cranes XI (Shirt Numbers in Brackets):

Isima Bin Rashid Watenga (19), Denis Iguma (12), Isaac Muleme (20), Enock Walusimbi (16), Murushid Juuko (4), Khalid Aucho (8), Bobosi Byaruhanga (6), Milton Karisa (13), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi – Captain, 7), Derrick Nsibambi (9), Joseph Benson Ochaya (2)

Substitites – Charles Lukwago ,Joel Mutakubwa, Innocent Wafula, Gavin Kizito Mugweri, Abdul Aziizi Kayondo, Ibrahim Orit, Richard Basangwa, Steven Desse Mukwala, Yunus Sentamu, Mustapha Kizza, Moses Waiswa, Kenneth Semakula

Mali Starting XI

Ibrahima Bosso, Hamali Traore, Charles Traore, Falaye Sacko, Boubacar Kouyate, Diadie Samaskou, Haidara Amadou, Mohamed Camara, Moussa Doumbia, Adama Traore, Kone Ibrahima

ALSO READ:   Joint Task Force launches operations against vandalism of electricity assets

Substitutes – Mohamed Niaf, Ismail Diarra, Mamadou Fofana, Senou Coulibaly, Mahame Siby, Aliou Deng, Cheikh Doucoure, Adama Traore, Kouame Ngussan
Hamidou Sinayoko, Lassine Sinayoko, Mahamadou Doucoure

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or join the Daily Express WhatsApp Group or Telegram Channel for the latest updates.

To Top
Translate »