Big Story

IRON SHEETS SAGA: DPP bounces back eight files to police for further inquiries

Justice Abodo while speaking at the week-long prosecutors’ symposium in Kampala yesterday said the files lacked some critical information to charge the suspects and therefore returned them to the investigations directorate for more inquiry.

The Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP), Justice Jane Frances Abodo has revealed that her office rejected and returned back eight police case files that were sent to them for perusal in the ongoing investigations relating to the diversion of iron sheets meant for vulnerable people in Karamoja.

Justice Abodo while speaking at the week-long prosecutors’ symposium in Kampala yesterday said the files lacked some critical information to charge the suspects and therefore returned them to the investigations directorate for more inquiry.

“We received eight files a week ago, we read them and we found out that there were inquiries to be done and we sent them back to police to actually finish up,” Justice Abode said.

- Advertisement -

The DPP also revealed that she will expand her investigations to officials in the Office of the Prime Minister (OPM). She also said she will inquire into the entire procurement process before she wraps up the iron sheets investigations.

She also clarified that her office will not be investigating goats that were also meant to benefit the people of Karamoja as she will for now be concentrating on iron sheets.

Justice Abodo also denied allegations of selective prosecution of the ministers, explaining that some of the suspects could have given the iron sheets to many beneficiaries and that in such scenarios, they take a longer time to investigate compared to a suspect who gave the iron sheets to one beneficiary like a school.

“Some places are far away, so it’s not about the in-out method. If there is evidence, we actually take a particular file to court but if not ready, we ask police to carry out further inquiries.”

The development comes just a day after Police Spokesperson Fred Enanga on Monday said that police were almost through with the inquiry and investigations into the Iron Sheets Scandal and that they were only waiting for the DPP’s decision to act.

The scandal has so far seen three ministers; Mary Goretti Kitutu (Karamoja Affairs) Amos Lugoloobi (State for Finance, Planning and Economic Development) and Agnes Nandutu (junior minister for Karamoja Affairs) arraigned and charged before the Anti-Corruption Court with a long list of ministers and MPs including top government officials sucked in the saga.

- Advertisement -

Other officials charged include Kitutu’s brother Mr Michael Naboya, and Mr Joshua Abaho, the senior assistant secretary in the Ministry of Karamoja Affairs who is expected to appear tomorrow before the Anti-Corruption Court Magistrate.

Below is a full list of MPs, Ministers in the Karamoja Iron Sheets Saga

  1. Jessica Alupo    Vice President
  2. Anita Among    Speaker of Parliament
  3. Robinah Nabbanja    Prime Minister
  4. Rebecca Kadaga    First Deputy Prime Minister/Minister for East African Affairs
  5. Rukia Isanga Nakadama    Second Deputy Prime Minister/Minister without Portfolio
  6. Matia Kasaija    Minister for Finance Planning and Economic Development
  7. Judith Nabakooba    Minister for Lands, Housing and Urban Development
  8. Kitutu Mary Goretti    Minister for Karamoja Affairs
  9. Dennis Hamson Obua    Government Chief Whip
  10. Rose Lilly Akello    Minister for Ethics and Integrity
  11. Grace Kwiyucwinyi    Minister of State for Northern Uganda
  12. Agnes Nandutu    Minister of State for Karamoja
  13. Jennifer Namuyangu    Minsiter of State for Bunyoro
  14. Amos Lugoloobi    Minister of State for Finance (Planning)
  15. Esther Anyakun    State Minister for Relief and Disaster Preparedness
  16. Alice Kaboyo    State Minister for Luweero/Rwenzori
  17. Grace Mary Mugasa    State Minister for Public Service
  18. Fred Bwino Kyakulaga    State Minister for Agriculture
  19. Moriku Kaducu    State Minister for Primary Education
  20. Henry Musasizi State Minister for Finance (General Duties)
  21. Aisha Sekindi Minister of State for Water
  22. Fred Byamukama Minister of State for Transport
  23. Jacob Oboth-Oboth Minister of State for Defence
  24. Obiga Kania MP, Terego East County, Terego
  25. Joab Businge MP, Masindi Municipality
  26. Pius Wakabi MP, Bugahya County, Hoima District
  27. Stephen Aseera MP Bugangazi East County, Kikuube
  28. Jennifer Mbabazi District Woman MP, Kagadi
  29. Akiiki Asiimwe District Woman MP, Masindi
  30. Kenneth Kiiza MP Bujenje County, Masindi
  31. Aled Akuguzibwe MP Buruuli County Masindi
  32. Jacob Karubanga MP, Kibanda South, Kiryandongo
  33. Barnabas Tinkasimire MP, Buyaga West, Kagadi
  34. Harriet Businge District Woman MP, Hoima
  35. David Karubanga MP, Kigorobya County, Hoima
  36. Noeline Kisembo District Woman MP, Kibaale
  37. Josephat Tumwesigye MP, Bugangazi South Kakumiro
  38. Emely Kugonza MP, Buyanja East County, Kibaale
  39. Linos Ngompek MP, Kibanda North, Kiryandongo
  40. Flora Natumanya District Woman MP, Kikuube
  41. Eric Musana MP, Buyaga East County, Kagadi
  42. Joseph Ruyonga MP, Hoima West Division, Hoima City
  43. Hellen Kahunde District Woman MP, Kiryandongo
  44. Norah Bigirwa District Woman MP, Buliisa
  45. Aisha Black Agaba MP, Bugangaizi East
  46. Dr Patrick Isingoma MP, Hoima East Division, Hoima City
  47. Agnes Kirabo Youth MP Central Region
  48. Francis Twinomujuni MP, Buhaguzi County, Kikuube
  49. Julius Maganda Unclear
  50. Asinansi Nyakato District Woman MP, Hoima City
  51. Paul Omara MP, Otuke County
  52. Ruth Mold Lemetia Unclear
  53. Cissy Namujju District Woman MP, Lwengo

Do you have a story or an opinion to share? Email us on: Or join the Daily Express WhatsApp channel for all the latest news and trends or join the Telegram Channel for the latest updates.

To Top
Translate »